The Chouteau Amish Experience

I have to admit that I spend a great deal of time with my eyes glued to a computer screen as I craft one story or  another. So much so that it’s embarrassing how little I get out. #writerproblem34 But I recently made the effort to get over to Chouteau (the loose inspiration for Wells Landing) and visit with the Amish. I’ve been before–several times actually–but I’ve never had what I would consider a successful visit. This time, I would say it was a success.

My assistant and bestie, Stacey Barbalace, came to visit and go with me to the Books In Bloom Festival in Eureka Springs, AR. From there we decided to check out Chouteau. We wrangled my husband into driving for us and away we went!

We had a great time just driving through the back roads and seeing what we could find. Most all of the pictures we took were unplanned, just snapped when we happened upon something we wanted to remember. I wanted to share a couple of those pictures with you.

tactor1

We caught Augustus Yoder snoozing on his tractor as he waited for his ride to work.

schoolhouse1This is one of very few Amish school houses in the area. A great deal of the Amish children go to ‘regular,’ English schools there instead.

girl on tractorThis girl left after her shift at The Cheese House and zipped down the road on her tractor.

spreadingmanure

And this was Nelson Yoder spreading manure at his son’s dairy farm. We stopped and talked to him for a while. It was cool this day and Nelson was wearing a pale yellow shirt with a lined denim vest and barn-door denim pants.  Nelson explained to us that the farm had been his, but he turned it over to his son and now worked for him. It was a hoot watching the cows run in a line behind the manure spreader. But for Nelson, it was all in a day’s work.

If you’d like to see the rest of the pictures from our trip check out my Chouteau 2015 page under Amish Pictures.

Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

